SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Stand Up

Another big day "at work".

About a year ago, once I'd settled into the rhythm of working from home, I decided to start playing the numerous box sets I've collected / built over the years - roughly alphabetically.  This has included a variety of obscure and not so obscure '60s, '70s and '80s groups.  Some of them I grew up with, and still love; others I knew little or nothing of but came across them in one way or another - often to do with a website I run (well ran, but it's dying a slow death)... shameless plug... http://www.minilps.net.  Camel, Caravan, Cooper (Alice), Cure, Dire Straits, Doors, ELP, Genesis, Jackson (Joe), King Crimson.

Jethro Tull is one of a few significant, life changing bands that I grew up with AND that still have a special place.  Aqualung was my introduction to Tull - there was a lot happening for me then but it was my introduction to thoughts and thinking outside what Mum and Dad had taught me.  Stand Up is a much snazzier cover - so here it is (and a fine album it is too!)

I'm obviously looking forward to at least another year before I see the sets through - I get stuck on some of them, especially ones that I don't know much about so play through a few times (Genesis and King Crimson being cases in point).  Anyone who's ever gotten into "prog rock" will probably confirm that it takes 5 or 10 plays of an album before you can appreciate it (and then discard it).  I also really like reading reviews of them too - often the ones that get the poorest reviews turn out to be my favourites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.