Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2389. New mask

Our response to Barmy Boris lifting all of the restrictions in England from next week with the almost inevitable impact of either having covid spiral out of control over the next few weeks, or an increased possibility of a new vaccine-resistant variant to appear…was to buy new, better masks. Thankfully our First Minister isn’t pushing us all off a covid cliff next week but with the lack of restrictions on travel within the UK and the opening up of more international travel with no quarantine in England, there will be an impact North of the border. I have to say that I am worried despite being double vaccinated. Too few younger people are taking up the vaccinations and as we are starting to see there are people who have been fully vaccinated getting covid.

I had seen a few adverts for these Cambridge masks online so thought I’d take a look at them. They are substantial and have a permanent filter that lasts up to 6 months. Unfortunately when I measured my face for my size, I forgot to ask about the thickness of the ear loops and my small mask which fits my face perfectly, doesn’t fit properly when I’m wearing my hearing aids. I am hoping that I can exchange it for a larger size. My hubby’s one is a medium and his fits fine. They can also be adjusted so I think a medium one pulled a little tighter using the built in adjustment will fit me fine.

I have to say that I have no intention of stopping wearing a mask until I feel safe to do so and I hope that many people in England will do the same. There will be some relaxing of the restrictions here next week as we move to level 0 but masks will remain mandatory for the time being.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.