A life in nature

I opened cards and presents today.

My sister sent me this book, a collection of essays by Peter Scott first published in 1967. Growing up there were four “big name” naturalists on TV that I remember well - Jonny Morris (he of the funny voices), Desmond Morris, David Attenborough, and Peter Scott. Tony Soper and James Fisher are other names I recall.

Scott’s life and his achievements were extraordinary. He was a real polymath.

I’ve read the first essay, which is a description of sitting on an embankment overlooking The Wash. There is a passing reference to stunted elm trees thick with foliage which brought me up short. I remember all the elms, the iconic hedgerow tree (and the tree which features so much in Constable’s paintings). They’ve gone, victims of Dutch elm disease. Worryingly I am noticing ash die back much more this year, that tree is going to disappear from our landscape too. It happens both slowly (we don’t notice change from year to year) and quickly (10 years is not a long time).,

Notwithstanding that reflection - it’s been a very good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.