Visitors Centre Rievaulx Abbey

Yesterday I had a lovely day with Pixelfoto, Paula and Guy.  Our original plan had been to meet up in Helmsley for coffee and then go to the walled garden.  Well the planned coffee venue was closed (all week) though the one we chose was very nice (but maybe a little small), especially as there were rumours that Covid 19 might have played a part in the closure of other venues.  The walled garden was also closed, so with great persistence Paula managed  to access the English Heritage booking page on her phone and book us into Rievaulx Abbey.

So I spent a really lovely day with them and it was good to see them after all this time.  They also introduced me to a lovely route along the lower edge of the west side of the moor on the way back to they home that I’d never driven along before.


Not conventional photos of the abbey - I was playing again.  I have some photos of the abbey itself but haven’t had time to see if I have anything worth sharing.  (I also tried a 9 image composite (in extra) which I decided felt a bit too complex, so back to the drawing board.  I’ve selected another set from a quick trawl through my Abbey images - I need a bit more time for these. In fact I’ve decided that GG is right and old buildings don’t work well, especially when the light is very flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.