The Heronry at Trentham Gardens

I've had a wonderful day out with one of my greatest friends. We started our careers at the same place and we've shared so much ever since.

Trentham Gardens - halfway between our homes - and we had little optimism for good weather. It wasn't raining when we arrived so we walked right round the lake. I'd noticed on their website that the small island has become a Heronry and apparently, with their 42 breeding pairs, it is now one of the largest in the country.

I liked the muted shades - and the sheer number of herons - in this shot.

We continued our day (still no rain) with a splendid lunch and then shopping. We're a dreadful influence on each other, too. We both bought some Moorcroft pottery (I don't normally like it, but this was so beautiful) and by the time we left, there was still no sign of rain or snow.

Another view of the island
Heron in flight
wooden rhino

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.