wrperry

By wrperry

Courting

A wonderful Cape Cod wildlife photographer, who happens to work with my sister, told me where she's been getting amazing shots of juvenile plovers and terns.  I arrived at the shoreline at 6:30 AM, and for a short time, was the only photographer there.  It's a grassy dune area that is off limits to dogs and general beach bathing.  Although I didn't find any plovers, Least Terns,  the smallest terns in the world, were very active.  They flew in repeatedly with tiny silver fish to feed their young.  I was super excited to witness the courtship behavior in my blip, where the male brings food to the female, at times resulting in mating (extra).
Thanks for stopping by, and all of the lovely comments you have left for my past blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.