wrperry

By wrperry

On Their Own

When I went to open a window this morning I spotted this hungry hawk perched on my bird feeder.  I quickly ran downstairs, grabbed by big lens and headed to the kitchen window, with a direct view.  Unfortunately this had to be taken through the glass (opening the door would have startled her for sure) but I really wanted to get a shot so I could have a closer look.  We've had a pair of Red-shouldered Hawks nesting close by, but I've been away and had no idea if they had successfully reproduced.  This pristine, gorgeous creature confirms that we have juveniles, and they're already out there, fending for themselves.
Thank you for your lovely comments on the tern courting behavior that I was thrilled to witness.  I'm hoping to get back to that beach later in the summer.  Maybe the plovers will make an appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.