Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Packwood House

Many thanks for the support given for yesterday's blip.  I must admit to feeling low at the time, but as ever this wonderful community has comforted me.

It was L's birthday today (21 before you ask!).  We went out with our friends of 34 years as K's birthday is tomorrow.  We visited Packwood House in the Warwickshire countryside, a National trust property.  I can remember visiting more than a decade ago and marvelled at the gardens.  I also remember my mum telling me about a visit she made during the Second World War, when I believe it was still in private ownership, as a reward for the nurses working in the local Knowle Hospital.

It was somewhat frustrating this time around.  Despite the limited number of visitors many areas previously open to the public were roped off.  It took just 20 minutes to walk the extent of the gardens including the lake.

We had a lovely time and celebrated with a Champagne picnic.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.