Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Dark Green Fritillary

Last week, I drove 17 miles to a nature reserve where, in previous years, I had seen both the common blue butterfly and dark green fritillaries.  I only found the blue which I blipped last week.

Today, I went to Carlingnose Point, a nature reserve near North Queensferry, where I optimistically hoped to find a small skipper as that was the first location in Fife where one was reported (in 2019).

No luck with a skipper, but I was delighted to see 4 dark green fritillaries!

This one shows where its name comes from - the dark green on the underside of its hindwings. It is a male.

I couldn't get one with its wings flat upen so may go back next week (weather permitting). The 'extra has wings half open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.