playing with the Lensbaby

The US will have our fourth heat wave of the year this weekend. The EU proposed new climate change policies. They might impose tariffs on goods from countries that don't have strong climate change policies, which would provide an incentive for the rest of the world "to play ball." 

I saw another co-worker, in person. We had lunch, sort of like Before Times, except that not only could we eat outside, the coffee shop had an app so you could order and pay outside. Unfortunately, that didn't mean they actually prepared your food so 35 minutes later he went in and asked them where it was, 10 minutes after that he went in and got it, and five minutes after that he asked them for my coffee. It was good in concept. 

At work I generated information instead of simply consuming it. We are transitioning from the phase where I absorb and moving to the phase where I can produce. I learned that I was their first choice and they were psyched that I joined them because how often do you get your first choice? Apparently not only did I have a beautiful resume but I rocked in the interview and most people suck during their online interviews. That felt good to hear, esp as it has been my only online interview. 

Karen successfully got her driver's license renewed. With the pandemic all licenses were extended until 30 days after the state of emergency was lifted but she couldn't get an appointment before today. It was a bigger pill (irritant) than she expected but she is persistent. She performed a Jedi mind trick. 

One of the weirdest American phrases I've ever heard is to "screw the pooch." A lawyer said it to me. I spent hours and hours trying to figure out what it meant (someone cocked up) and where it came from (never, ever found that out). 

Another odd phrase is "ring your bell." Now, when I heard it, I didn't really understand it but figured it was related to having your head hit. Just now I looked it up. Well. It does mean that. It means other things as well. "To sexually attract or arouse someone; to bring someone sexual gratification or 
satisfaction."
Well. Now I don't think it was appropriate for the doctor to use that phrase. Really now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.