madowoi

By madowoi

Looking East

Replicated my walk of February 19th, only this time in a more melancholy and reflective state of mind. Passed several pairs of heavily blinkered draft horses pulling carriages filled with tourists around the mountain. Finished up on the cliffs at Ingraham Point staring at the ocean. Last time I didn't dare get so close to the edge because of all the ice. Watched a huge sailing yacht race out of Southwest Harbor until it got just about in the middle of my view here, then turn around and head straight back. Called an old friend who didn't answer and left an awkward message. Managed to get home without buying doughnuts.


As I wend to the shores I know not,
As I list to the dirge, the voices of men and women wreck’d,
As I inhale the impalpable breezes that set in upon me,
As the ocean so mysterious rolls toward me closer and closer,
I too but signify at the utmost a little wash’d-up drift,
A few sands and dead leaves to gather,
Gather, and merge myself as part of the sands and drift.


from As I Ebb'd with the Ocean of Life, by Walt Whitman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.