XSworld

By XSworld

Common name..(sigh)

This butterfly is either Pontia diplidice or Pontia edusa, I must admit that I didn't proceed with inspection of its genitals (or DNA) in order to find out which species it belongs to. Judging from how it continuously escaped from me and my camera, I actually doubt that it would have let me inspect its genitals (or get a biological sample for genetic purposes) and to be honest, the experts still debate whether the two species should be separated.
This butterfly is common in southern Europe but apparently a rare visitor further north. This is how I imagine how the missing common name for this butterfly was solved at a Royal Butterfly meeting!

<So what shall we call this rare visitor that we have here pinned in front of us?> Everyone approaches the butterfly-board, some with a magnifying glass and there is much chitter and chatter while the honorable members inspect the example. Several names are launched, but none capture the attention until a little fellow asks for the floor.
<Well sirs, if I may be so bold, this butterfly recalls a piece of needlework showing a specimen taken in or near Bath in 1795, so I suggest we call it "Bath white"> (sound of general applause)

Now THAT is what I call a catchy name!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.