Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Evening Fields

"Are you any good at dispatching animals?"

That was today's question from the lady who got out of a large van that had stopped in the lanes. She was very upset so I followed her to see what had happened. "I braked but the little bird hit me. I know I should run over it to finish it off but just I can't do it."

Little bird? It was about a kilo and a half of female mallard. Fortunately for me it had twitched its last so I just picked it up and put it in the ditch for something to have a meal of and we got on our way. It was only later I thought to myself that I should have stuck in the back of the car for roast canard or whatever you do with duck.

The light was beautiful this afternoon with wonderful skies but this was the shot I liked best in the end, with long evening shadows giving lovely textures on the hillsides.

Hope your day's been good.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.