Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pearl

A backlit beauty, and a new moth for me on my patch: Evergestis pallidata, known by some as the Chequered Pearl.

I’m back in work day mode for the rest of the week, so I just took a lunchtime walk down to the woods and meadows, It was the warmest day we’ve had for a while and starting to feel like high summer. There were scores of Meadow Brown and Ringlet. butterflies and I also recorded small numbers of: Speckled Wood, Large White, Small White, Green-veined White, Red Admiral, Small Tortoiseshell, Large Skipper and Small Skipper. 

If this weather keeps up I should see my first Gatekeeper of the year by the end of the week, and it’s time to keep my eyes peeled for Purple and Whilte Letter Hairstreaks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.