The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Shiloh Sharecropper Shacks

I drove out to Shiloh this morning to take pictures of these shacks (see link below). They've always intrigued me and, though I wasn't sure of their history, I've been here with my camera twice before. The only thing I was sure of was that they're not maintained as an historical site, and the signs on the property are of the "No Trespassing" variety.

Heading back the way I came I passed a small country church that was just letting out from services and stopped and asked if anyone was aware of the history of these buildings. The gentleman I spoke to said they were sharecropper shacks that remain held by the estate of the original owners. The grounds are used as graze by a local farmer's beef cows, but the buildings haven't been used or maintained in a long time.

When I got home I decided the day belong to b&w so all of the images are mono. If you'd like to see some of the others you can click - here.

.... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.