How do I have so many shoelaces? I know I brought them from the old house after I'd run out of time to sort-and-junk but surely in the 28 years I was there my family never owned half this number of shoes? 

I found them in a bag as I was emptying the cupboard under the stairs. Lots of stuff got dumped there when I moved in and I've done very little with it since then apart from taking the vacuum cleaner and the bicycle pump out occasionally. I'm quite proud of how little stuff there is in there this evening. 

Which is because all my other pictures today were of cupboard-under-the-stairs things (some found in this house) for Freegle: a petrol can, a shrink-wrapped cupboard door, some old wellie boots, a bizarre thing in the shape of a dog... They are now by the front door and if no-one claims them by next bin-collection day they will go out.

Trouble is, I can see how I could use some of these shoelaces! They might end up in the sewing drawer.

I also took 8kg of rusty garden metal to the metal salvage place. The price per tonne has increased by 45% since I was last there at the beginning of April so a giddy £1.28 was added to the tally I shall cash in one day.

On the way back I bumped into my Afghan neighbours and checked they'd be happy to have some sweet pea flowers from my garden. They asked for a lettuce too which I was more than happy to take round. An hour later they brought me some, um, minestrone soup. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.