Food

I heard from Palesa at last, but the news is not good. She has water, but no medication (she is HIV positive), and no food. No food since July 11 (sorry for date error earler, corrected now). She didn't mention her nearly-one-year-old baby, Kamohelo. Her note was very brief. I gather she hasn't much charge on her phone.

She lives in an area called Daveyton, and this article published in New Frame today, includes photos and some interviews with people in Daveyton. I will let it tell you the story. 

Sue bought fish for our dinner tonight. All I can think of is Daveyton. Since Trump was President, there has been no legal way to send money to South Africa except by bank transfer, and Palesa has no bank account. I've turned off comments for now. I'm voiceless at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.