carliewired

By carliewired

They're Back!

Bighorn sheep came down
to the roadside to graze and
pose for my photos! 

~ carliewired

We've been given something of a reprieve in the last day. Yesterday afternoon a wind came up and whisked most of the smoke out of our valleys. I'm surprised at what an effect that has on one's outlook (no pun intended). To be able to see across the valleys again gave me such a lift mentally. 

This morning I was up before 6 getting a shot from my deck of the light coming up. I could see clouds, not smoke haze. What a treat! The temperature was 16 C and the light breeze felt amazing. 

I drove along Ord Road heading to Tranquille beside Kamloops Lake. I was delighted to find a small band of bad boys had come down onto the edge of the road to graze. These male bighorn sheep seemed to be after anything green. I am guessing that their range on the hills has been drying out in all this heat. I took these photos from my car windows. They were not perturbed by me at all. They couldn't have cared less that I was right there beside them. It helps to have a hybrid vehicle that makes very little noise at all. 

From there I moved on the wetlands near Tranquille. It is receding rather quickly as our river levels go down. The waterfowl are still enjoying it. The ducks and geese root through the soggy plant life. Little patterns are appearing as the water recedes from the fields. The colours were lovely this morning as the sun moved into the valley. That bit of smoke coloured things pink. 

I parked my little red bomber as far off the road as possible. I was tucked in below the railway line. A Canadian National freight train came by as I was walking back to my car. I had to be careful walking along the road today as there was a constant stream of pickups whizzing by. Each held only a driver who looked like a construction worker. They must be heading for the fire lines above Kamloops Lake. 

With my renewed sense of optimism this morning, I grabbed my drive-thru breakfast and headed home. I will get to the fabric store this morning for some supplies. I actually feel I want to do something today. 

Our weather forecast offers a high of 30 C, a much more comfortable day overall with a mix of sun and cloud. Here's hoping the smoke stays away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.