Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Common Darter

A long walk with the spaniel on Ashdown Forest this morning accompanied by dozens of Small White butterflies. There was an influx from the continent in the middle of the week and they were making their way northwards against a stiff breeze. I was counting at least one or two every minute for two hours. None were stopping so my blip is a female Common Darter dragonfly. Spotted a few other nice dragonflies including Brilliant/Downy Emerald, Golden-ringed and a Brown Hawker.

In the afternoon I led a butterfly walk on the local nature reserve. Lots more Small Whites were found and twelve other species so my concern that there wouldn't be much to see was ill-founded. The participants seemed quite happy. Overall its been quite an active day - six hours walking plus my usual hour on the bike - I will sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.