JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 197: Orgy on the Cow Parsley

It's the time of year when every other umbellifer is covered with red soldier beetles holding very public orgies. I assume they have been doing it for centuries, or at least all my life, but I noticed them for the first time last year, when a walk round the edge of the village revealed cow parsley crawling with eager beetles in search of, or having already round, mates. At present they are all around the garden. I have not managed to identify the black and white beetle in the centre - help would be welcome.

The extra is a Ringlet butterfly on a large conifer. It's the first time I have seen one in the garden. I think there were several, but they moved too fast and settled too slowly for me to adjust, frame and shoot. 

A cloudy morning cleared into a perfect afternoon. J and I sat in the shade on the lawn eating chocolate chip cookies, and Millie cat not only came for cuddles but managed to sit calmly on our laps for several minutes - she is the most fidgety cat I have ever known, and although she enjoys some lap time, she usually remains standing, walks and turns around constantly. Then J sat on the deck with her Gridpad (communication aid/tablet computer, with switch access) messaging friends on Facebook and browsing online, while I potted on more of the tomatoes which have grown too large in their intermediate pots, moved the last of the nasturtiums from their modules into a bowl for the balcony and picked a few more strawberries. It was lovely to be outside on such a beautiful day. 

A couple of hours ago I belatedly posted Wednesday's butterfly photos, if you have time to flick back for the skipper and meadow browns; I have yet to download today's weeds and bugs.                                                                                          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.