LesTension

By LesTension

WHODAT?

Race photographers amuse themselves between races shooting whatever happens to enter their zone of influence. I woudn't bet the farm that I'm right but I'm reasonably certain this is one of several species called generically Assassin Flies,  Family: Asi'lidae.  More specifically, this one is known as a Robber Fly.

They are quite the predator insect and many an unwary insect has fallen prey to these aerial hunters.  On this day, it was watching a small iridescent green sweat bee about two hand widths away from him sunning itself on a Jersey Barrier....the large concrete slabs that separate the track from the safety zones. Unfortunately, a race started and I shifted my attention from this localized drama to a beautiful Detomaso Pantera on track. I never learned of the fate of the sweat bee. I may show you that car in a day or two.

Best in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.