Marionb

By Marionb

Get the Watercolours Out...

....It is a Monet moment! I was hoping the waterlilies in the back bay would be blooming and they are! 

I came up to the cottage today and am looking forward to about ten days of relaxing, enjoying time with family and puttering with hobbies.  

About the waterlilies - I did bring my watercolour paints, but if I actually manage to paint something, that would be a novelty!  I lug those suckers everywhere I go, but never seem to have much to show for the effort when I get back home!  

The Great Gypsy Moth Invasion continues; the caterpillars are gone but now the air is filled with moths instead. It has been hellish time for our trees. The leaves have been decimated..but we think we see signs that they are trying to make a comeback...Sure hope so.

I thought I would blip a picture of the much dreaded Gypsy Moth today; they are everywhere, and would be an easy blip.. but I got waylaid by a lovely butterfly on a tree trunk directly in front of me...He was so well camouflaged, I nearly missed him. I couldn't get a photo of him with his wings open, but I did get a glimpse of some vibrant colour on them when he flew away...After much searching and discussion with my daughter and SIL, our  best guess is that he is a Compton Tortoiseshell.  

It is evening now, still warm but overcast; no dramatic sunset happening; the silence is setting in; the water out back is like glass. Three loons swam by during dinner, and I am looking forward to hearing their call later. The call of the loon would be a perfect ending to the day.... A  lovely welcome home. 

I am hoping for a beautiful photo-worthy sunrise tomorrow, and weather-permitting, a boat ride and picnic. Even if none of that happens, life is good here.   

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.