Marionb

By Marionb

Jumping For Joy....

.... In the Land of Rocks, Pines and Shining Waters...

Looks like fun, eh? This is a place in Georgian Bay called Hole in the Wall, a narrow channel between two of our 30,000 islands. (Note how I worked that astounding number into the conversation - 30,000!  30,000 islands! Imagine THAT.... ) My daughter and son-in-law took me out to Hole in the Wall today on the boat ride and picnic they had promised me yesterday. It was wonderful. 

En route, we cruised along the shores of the big sound, checking out the landscape and the cottages - this is big cottage country - and then Hole in the Wall - a very popular place for jumping off cliffs, where we had a stopover so that my son-in-law could do just that! ( see above - unfortunately, I botched the shot of his actual dive!)  

From there we headed toward Killbear Provincial Park and anchored off shore for a swim and a lovely picnic lunch in the boat.  It was a wonderful day, thanks to my daughter and son-in-law; they do make my cottage time much more interesting when they are here with me! 

I have included two extras - a photo of my daughter, the keeper of the navigational charts - charts and GPS are helpful in that maze of islands  - ...and also a photo of the sunrise this morning as it illustrates the odd weather conditions we had today - a hazy day with an orange sun that made photography very challenging. We have since heard that the haze is caused by smoke from wildfires elsewhere and is a problem not just here, but around the province. Not good. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.