Life In Wales

By KarenC

Puffin Island

The last day of our staycation and we went over to Anglesey this morning as I'd booked a boat trip to Puffin Island.  It was the perfect day as it was hot and sunny, and there was no wind so the sea was really calm.  The boat trip was really well organised as when you book, you pay for a Zone so that you're sat in your household, this also meant that there was no mad scrum to get on the boat to get the best seat. I'd booked the seat at the back of the boat and I was facing backwards which was good as I had a great view, and could stand up and look out without blocking anyone else's view.

As we reached Puffin Island we first saw the colony of Cormorants which is the biggest in Wales apparently, and then as we sailed round we saw some seals which was a nice surprise I wasn't expecting to see them - I've added one to my extras.  There are about 200 Puffins on the island, and I timed my visit well as they leave in a couple of weeks and won't be back until next year.  I was surprised at how small they are and they're also very quick!  We didn't see any on the rocks as the boat was quite a distance away, but there were a few in the sea and flying - unfortunately due to the distance and the boat moving, it was very difficult to get clear shots, so I've decided to make a collage for my Blip.

Alan didn't come on the trip as he's not keen on boats, so he spent the time having a wander around Beaumaris, and then after the trip he showed me around the little town which is lovely - there are some very nice shops, a castle and there was also an artisan market.  It was busy with tourists though, so will be nice to go back out of the main holiday season.

Alan wanted to watch the British Grand Prix this afternoon, so we headed home about 1ish and while he watched the race I painted a kitchen plinth outside, so it dried very quickly, and then once the race had finished, Alan drilled some holes to hang another picture in the living room, a mirror in the dining room and a clock in the kitchen.  We finally sat down in the garden about 7pm and the temperature was perfect.

It's been a lovely 'holiday' and we just wish we had another week off, but unfortunately, we're back to work tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.