curns' corner

By curns

I see this

Earlier I lockdown I sat on my glasses and bent one of the temples. Given I was going nowhere, and the glasses were still perfectly functional, I didn’t do anything about it. Last week another part fell off my glasses and they became quite fragile. I did manage to find some glue and stick bits together in a fairly unobtrusive way but I feel they may be coming to the end of their life.

Earlier in the week I made an appointment to see my optician so that I could fix the problem and today I walked to Wimbledon for an eye test. It appears my prescription had not significantly changed since last time but I decided to replace the broken glasses anyway. I also asked to remove varifocal portion of the lens because I am constantly taking my glasses of to read - it’s an age thing, I guess - and feel that I am paying for something that is not useful to me.

The shop was busier than I expected given the social distancing rules but the testing itself was quick. I always find it difficult selecting glasses when I am on my own - although the assistant was really helpful - I do tend to want the opinion of somebody who knows me. I selected some lightweight frames that are less obvious on the face - and very much lighter - than my old pair. They should be ready next week.

And, I discovered that the arms on a pair of glasses are properly called temples.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.