Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The book she never saw

I made a blurb book for Palesa, but she never got it. She didn't have an address, and I tried sending it to a friend of hers but they never got it either. It's a comfort to me now.

Ceridwen helpfully suggested I might create a vehicle for crowd funding to help her children. I was confused about their ages. Katleho, the boy, is 15. Kamohelo, the girl, will be one later this month. I want to raise money to help Palesa's sister, Lebo, rear them; but if she got a lot of money all at once, she would be in danger of being killed for it. So we need something called a "trust," even if the sum of money is modest. I've never had anything but debts and old cars, so I know nothing of this.

People are helping me. A filmmaker is making a video from some of my photos and a bit of live video I made of her in 2010. A lawyer (former student) is learning how to administer a trust. I'm working on a draft of the statement/story. Lebo, who works as a security guard, does have a bank account, so we can make this happen. We plan to post the crowd funder on Sunday, the day after her funeral. Working on it gives me a project, and that is helpful. I have many kind messages of support and sympathy, and that helps. Nobody gets through life without losing people they love. It's one of the five remembrances; we are in this together. Thank you. I can't respond to messages, but I am taking them in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.