Presentiments of the young

A friend is back in town for a few days and treated me to lunch, telling me what has changed in his life since he and his wife left Portland in 2019. Their son, not yet born when they left, is now three years old, and he hopes they can get out of the USA permanently before 2024.

“I don’t want to raise our son in this country, toxic with capitalism and state violence, and I think a fascist takeover is certainly possible in 2024.” Not to mention economic collapse and climate catastrophe. He thinks it can all get worse and probably will, though in general he is upbeat, hoping he can emigrate. 

Coincidentally, when I came home from seeing him, I had a text message from another young friend: “I’m getting my passport. I’m still undecided whether I want to stay and fight, or go and hopefully live my last days further away from fascism.” 

I decided I would mention these conversations in my blip, as I wonder if others realize how many young people in the USA have these presentiments. I wonder if it was like this in Germany in the 30s. Of course the people who can leave are those who are young, healthy, and have some marketable skills and some financial resources, but I think it deserves mention. I’ve altered and cropped this photograph in hopes of protecting my friend’s privacy. We never know who is looking.

We go blithely along, trying not to be paranoid, trying not to panic. I responded to the text message, “I am not strong and fit enough to fight, but I will be here to bear witness, to love those who cannot get away, to hold their hands. If you can get out, go with my blessing.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.