Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Sunset Stinger

I can’t believe this is the first sunset I’ve blipped. I feel I’ve been incredibly lazy since returning from Scotland - and this week’s heat hasn’t helped. But let’s face it, the relative cool of evening means there’s no excuse, so tonight we head off for Deganwy and Llandudno’s West Shore. 

It’s a cloudless sky which never makes for the most spectacular sunsets, and the tide’s in, so there are no tidal pools and exposed rocks to catch the light for a more interesting composition. Still, it’s a beautiful evening, and the rapidly sinking sun is glowing orange, casting a stream of golden ripples over the flat calm sea. 

The shore is littered with an amazing number of jellyfish stranded by the tide which has recently turned. Suddenly, I notice one or two close to the water line which are glowing brilliantly as the sun’s rays catch. They glow like molten lava, or, more prosaically, shine like orange fruit gums held up to the light. Getting a shot means lying almost prostrate on the wet sand, and I have to resort to using my iPhone to avoid damaging my 90D.

So that’s my main for today. I know this jellyfish technically is not a stinger, but I went with alliteration! As an extra, there’s a collage of the various jellyfish we spotted - tomorrow I’ll work on  identifying them - but I want to post this before midnight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.