One click at a time

By KeithKnight

March Daily Challenge - Green

Day 17 of MissyMoo's March daily challenge - Green: It's St Patrick's Day - find something green.

A very busy day, resulting in a backblip.

Up early to travel to Newark for the RPS distinctions advisory day, and to get advice on the progress of my proposed ARPS panel.

I have mentioned that I had hired a car for the weekend to get a car with a bigger boot for yesterday and a quieter car for today, it had a built in SatNag, except that it didn't nag. No voice at all, a little investigation of the menus and I found that it had no languages loaded, loaded the only one and set off, with an Australian giving directions!

"Join the motorway - time to cruise"
"Catch a you-ey, good on yer mate"
"Hey mate, tell those backseat drivers if they don't clam up we'll drop 'em at the next server"

A few of the phrases from it. I suspect a previous hirer has been playing :).

The weather was a bit of everything, rain, sleet, snow, and during the lunch break golf ball sized clumps of snow fell, settling on roofs, grass and unused bits of road. It did clear before I left but I seemed to catch up with it as I headed back down the A1/A1(M).

I was the only participant who received an introduction. Ralph, who organised the event, is also the circle secretary for my UPP circle. It was the first time that we had met, and another member was there also. Ralph mentioned this, plus the fact that I run my own business, and blip, not just blip, but also for over a year have been doing the daily challenges. It was a longer introduction than that given to the advisers.

There were 2 people giving advice on Visual Art ARPS panels, theirs was split on mine (and quite a few other peoples), but no great surprises in what they said, the weaker images lined up with my thinking (and once I can get something better to replace them they were going to be replaced anyway), and the strongest images also lined up. There was division between the two as to whether there was enough variety, both making good points, but divided on whether it was good to have so many with curves, and needing more angular shapes, or whether it worked well with the curves as they were and to remove the more angular images that are there. In the end it was agreed that with a panel like mine it would depend who was on the assessment panel on the day. One small surprise was that one of my reserve images that I thought was a little weak technically was loved by one of the advisers.

Having been so busy with photography all day, I only managed to take one photograph, and that was during the lunchbreak. To fit the theme for today, of green for St Patrick's Day, somewhere under this snow is a green bush outside the centre where the advisory day was held!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.