OldTimer

By OldTimer

St Mary's Demolition

Firstly I want to say how overwhelmed I was to receive all those stars and hearts for my yesterdays blip. I wondered what was happening as had totally forgotten about it and had meant to do something special for the day. I can certainly say if it hadn't been for Rainie I would never have become a blipper and I am really grateful to her for that. It has been wonderful making so many new friends both in person and across the wavelengths. It was a huge privilege to even meet a blipper in Alaska who travelled many miles to meet me and we still keep in touch. I know I have been missing a few days recently but that is life as the older one gets the less I seem to accomplish in a day
Today was up and out by 8am to meet a friend who is recording the demolition of the Catholic church in our town. Sad for her as it is the church she grew up in and her brother became a priest from there. A new one will rise up from the ashes I know
The four clock faces and all the windows have been removed prior. The xtra shows the first bit to crumble. Today was a delicate and precise operation taking down the backpiece that had asbestos in it. It was all loaded into a dump truck lined with plastic and wrapped before being taken to the dump. Tomorrow they start on the main building so will be down there at daylight again. Feel sorry for all the birds whom had made their home in the clock tower since the damage was done to it in the earthquake 10 years ago

Thankyou again for all your lovely comments on what for me was a very mediocre blip. Next milestone I will do better

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.