fairyhedgehog

By fairyhedgehog

Ducks again

It's been another hot day, but I managed to organise the appointments for our return covid tests and get some washing done. The washing machine is on the blink, so I did smaller than usual loads and I was lucky with it. 

We got more salad delivered, and after dinner Evie and I drove to the duck pond then had a little walk. She has fibromyalgia, so she can't walk far, but it was pleasant to be out in the evening especially in the shade.

At the duck pond, I thought all the ducks had gone. There was a green film over quite a lot of the pond, and it was deserted. We were standing there, me in dismay at having brought Evie to such a desolate place, when the first ducks appeared looking for food. Gradually more came, then a whole line of them! We ended up with a feeding frenzy at our feet. A few were babies with spiky beaks - I'm guessing moorhen babies.

There are large areas of grass and wildflowers between the streets, and we found these Birds Foot Trefoils (or that's what the app told me they are) that are in the extras.

Neil is away tonight because he's helping a friend sail round the Isle of Wight tomorrow. It looks like it's going to be another hot day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.