Spring Lakes in Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire, home to various water sports including open water swimming. 

A few from my Ramblers have arranged to visit in a week or so, but I'll be at my daughter's so will miss it. So, on a whim, this morning I booked a swim there, then panicked and messaged a friend... who obligingly also booked phew!

It was a bit expensive because of buying the membership card and the required swim hat, but when I go again it will only be £5. Yes I could've gone and swam in the Derwent for free, there are a few places within easy reach, but Spring Lakes is safe, there are no currents, it's easy to exit and enter the water and swimmers are monitored. 

It's been a long, long time since I wore a swimhat, and it's three years at least since I swam at all, anywhere, so it was great to discover via Fitbit that we'd swam almost a mile. Chuffed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.