Clazel

By Clazel

Bugs and bees

Suddenly I find myself fascinated by bees, bugs and hoverflies. This thumbnail marmalade hoverfly - hovering with its amazing eye and invisible wings I find an incredible feat of nature. Also in the collage is another marmalade hoverfly, a common banded hoverfly, a fly with brilliant green eyes that I can’t identify, a red tailed bumblebee, and bottom left a white or buff tailed bumblebee- I’m not sure which.
And why are bees and hoverflies black and yellow wondered lockdown son - isn’t it wonderful that Google is there - to hand - providing the answer. It’s a warning to predators that they have a sting and/or will taste bad. The hoverflies mimic this as a means of protection although they are harmless - how clever is that!
I’m moved by your kind and generous responses to my 200th blip yesterday-thank you so much-it means a lot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.