Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

White-breasted Nuthatch

Thursday

This is my 7/15 blip,  backblipped on 7/21

I'm so glad that we brought a seed feeder along with the hummingbird feeder.  Today we had Mountain Chickadees, Pine Siskens and White-breasted Nuthatches.  The nuthatch is the Blipstar today because s/he posed so nicely.  I also took a lot of hummingbird shots but I wasn't happy with any of them.  

We were awakened from our sound sleep at 5:14 this morning (Thursday) by a piercing alarm. We checked both the smoke alarms and it wasn't either of them and the alarm kept going.  Poor Piper was beside herself!  I finally noticed a flashing red light at floor level and it was the propane alarm.  I pushed the mute button and we checked all the appliances and didn't detect any odors or leaks.  PD went outside to check the propane bottles and all was fine with them.  While he was outside the light turned back to solid green.  The whole episode only lasted about 3 minutes.  We never figured out what triggered it and it didn't happen again. I am grateful that it was a false alarm!  Of course there was no more sleep for any of us but, for the first time in a few years, we were up in time for the sunrise. :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.