Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Reseeding

This is Wednesday's blip, backblipped on Thursday.

Today (Wednesday) we drove to Willow Creek Reservoir to see the fire damage to the campground there.  It was so sad to see all the charred trees and the mostly destroyed campground.  If and when they reopen it, all the trees will be gone and it will never be the same, at least not in our lifetime. :'(

One ray of hope, though, was seeing the reseeding operation already underway.  Thousands of acres of forest were destroyed, so they will be doing this for years to come.  We saw this and another helicopter on the ground so we drove down to where they were "parked" and talked to the workmen.  They told us about the project and suggested we hang around (at a safe distance) for a while because they were taking off soon.  Some of the burned hillsides can be seen in the photos.

I just posted Tuesday's blip as well and it's worth a look if you have time.  We met some interesting people and saw some great art, manmade and natural. :-)

Thanks again for all your visits and stars and hearts while I haven't been able to reciprocate.  I really appreciate all of them! xx

I am grateful that the hummingbirds have found their feeder, and the chickadees and nuthatches have found the seed feeder.  I'm hoping for some shots of them today (Thursday).  I've already had a chickadee land on my hand for seeds but I wasn't ready with the camera.  :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.