Homage to Mick Murphy

Running a day late as our internet conked out yesterday afternoon - I blame the heat! Prior to that, between swimming and general lounging, I was doing some work on a recently visited well dedicated to St Gobnait -as you do. I had just been wildly lead astray by the most incredible story - I have blipped  a photo of this little house before , and no this photo wasn't taken today, but it was the focus of my work. If you remember we had been told that the Ironman lived here. I knew he'd won an important bike ride and idly I wondered if I could find anything about him on Google. Well was an incredible story unravelled and I just had to cheat share it with you! Mick Murphy - what an amazing life, what an astonishing man. If you don't read the newspaper article do watch the video - a gentle man who lived a life the way he wanted to - and you get glimpses of inside the house! 
Make yourself a cuppa, pour yourself a refreshing glass of something and enjoy this video. I confess to a tear in the eye.
And a fascinating article.
It always pays to do you research for Ireland is a most astonishing country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.