Thursday's photograph (no painting today)

Yesterday was horrendous as regards accumulated heat in these bungalows.
I went to the front of the bungalow yesterday just to look. All people on my side of the road, (the midday sun shines on the kitchen and the front room, and both are intolerable rooms in heat) and everyone had driven away in their cars with their animals. I was the only person in on my side of the road. On the other side of the road, it is all bungalows again, there were were more people at home and their front doors were open, and  they were sitting on their front doorsteps with their dogs etc. The front of their houses are in the shade, but the backs have the full midday sun.

Again I had every fan going, the upright oscillating ones, a couple of ancient floor fans, and a variety of rechargeable/usb desk fans. And my bedroom door was open all night with the bottom half barricaded against the badger/s.

I was about to go to bed when I realised my fridge (it is only a small table top one) was overheating badly. I should have realised because the temperature inside the kitchen was 30C plus. The table top freezer was overheating quite badly too. It was too hot to touch both appliance sides.

What to do? Turn them both off? A danger of fire? But I lose both contents. My spare rechargeable desk fans were recharging. I didn't have a spare fan. I couldn't manage with less, and neither could Popeye because he is struggling badly in this heat.

So I grabbed some battery banks, connected the rechargeable fans to them, and ran them as they were fanning. I don't think you are supposed to do this because it can affect the battery charge adversely, but this is an emergency. So I put 3 desk fans on fridge and 3 desk fans on freezer. Actually I put one of the fans at the back of each so it could reduce the heat on the working elements of fridge and freezer.

15 mins later both appliances had cooled down. Fridge had cooled down to cool, and the freezer was slightly warm on one side. It was the heat in the kitchen than had created that.

Checked it during the night several times, all doing well. I went on Amazon and ordered some more desk top fans, but they won't arrive until later today.

But I have just realised I need a couple more big electric fans, because mine are running 24/7, and I have to keep turning them off because the plugs are overheating.

I went out very early when all I wanted to do was lie comatose. Get any ice I can find, I have a cool box, if there is any ice left in the shops And see if any shops have had a delivery...

We have promised temps of 32 C plus today...


MISSION WAS ACCOMPLISHED!
I had to try more places than I expected, because there was no ice nor fans for love or money.

So, think outside the box I said to myself...
So, I tried a long shot.

There was a freezer full of ice there, and two whole shelves of fans. I bought 6 bags of ice, and their freezer was still full, and 4 fans, and even that barely made a dint on their shelves.

Got home. It was 24C when I left at 7.30 am,  and it was 29C by12:30pm.

Then Amazon delivered a humidifier fan, but it was something I had ordered days ago. I fell asleep the moment I got back home from the successful expedition, and I awoke to my phone vibrating on my chest to say that my fan had been left with a receptionist. RECEPTIONIST!?!?

So I went to usual hiding place for Amazon.

No humidifier fan.

I was getting worried because it had been a bit expensive. Went to outside front door.

No humidifier fan.

All I wanted to do was sleep.
So, it was hunt my overgrown front garden for this box.

In the meantime I noticed I was the only resident on my side of the road in 20 odd houses who was at home, the other neighbours never came back even last night. And on the other side of the road where the residents were sitting on their shady doorsteps yesterday, because the backs of their houses were full sun, there was now only one resident sat on the doorstep because all the other residents had vanished from 20 odd houses on the other side of the road. And I bet they don't come back tonight either.

All these bungalows are very badly built to cause overheating problems of this magnitude.

I finally found my humidifier fan box in my cherry tree ?????!!!!! So a cherry tree is a receptionist?

It was now 32C

I am going to sleep now, I don't want to wake up until this heat is over.

I wonder where I will find my delivery of fans that is due to come later today...

By the way, when I went shopping on Monday, nearly all the chiller cabinets (and freezer cabinets) were out of action with puddles of water all over the floors of the shops. This morning, I found a cheese chiller cabinet that seemed okay, so I reached for some hard cheddar cheese, only the cheese was softer than putty. It went out of shape immediately just by holding it, and so I am pressing and moulding it through the clear plastic covering. I put it back on the pile of cheese, only it had arms, legs, a body and a head now...

I wasn't being mischievous, I was absolutely fascinated that a cheddar cheese was mouldable like this. None of the stuff in the chiller cabinet was fit to eat, the temperature was not cold enough...I was just warning people...there were sandwiches, pies, iced coffee, cut up fruit, all stuff you pick up and eat on the go, and you wouldn't realise it was not cold enough...


THE COLLAGE...
Popeye asked to go outside this afternoon. I tried explain it was cooler indoors than  outside, but he wouldn't have it.

Merryweather was outside the glass door. I was using my old iPhone to take pictures, but it went into total overheat mode in the garden. I thought it was going to burn my hand, so I shut it down. It is now sitting on a 'bed' for an old laptop I had, which has several fans spinning away to cool it down.

Popeye lasted two minutes on the bare earth, then he got up and came back inside and is hugging a fan...

Merryweather scarpered. Then we were joined by a bee who couldn't fly but tried to keep up with us...

And I need some more power banks. Two have just packed in. I have had them the last 6 years, so I need to get some more...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.