Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View from the farm

This morning we had tickets booked to go by ferry up the River Dart to visit Greenway, Agatha Christie's holiday home near Dittisham. It was a very picturesque journey up the river, and thankfully today there was a slight breeze so it was not as stiflingly hot as yesterday. Greenway is a Georgian house bought by Dame Agatha in 1938 for £6000. It was the setting of a few of her novels, notably Dead Man's Folly. After her death and then the subsequent death of her daughter, her grandson bequeathed it to the National Trust. It has a wonderful position above the River Dart and has extensive grounds and gardens of 36 acres. Extra photos of a scene from the river journey and the house.

When we got back it was lunchtime so we got takeaway fish and chips and sat on the harbour front to enjoy the view while we ate. I don't like fried foods so I did not eat the batter (which was gluten free) but I enjoyed the fish inside the batter. I went to see the views from Bayards Cove Fort where I took the third extra image. 

The plan was to return to the beach we went to yesterday for another swim, but Luke and Tommy who had gone on ahead in their own car said it was rather windy there so they went to one of the sheltered coves instead. I went back to the barn and set off for walk with Xena to one of the farmer's fields that we were told we could use for Xena, and on the way I met the farmer (our landlord) who was busy baling hay. He was so friendly and chatty and when I asked about the bales of hay and said I would like some photos of them he said I was welcome to go through all the fields with Xena. I took this main photo from one of his fields, I love this colourful view of the patchwork fields beyond.

Sadly it is our last night here, we have dinner out tonight and then tomorrow we all return to our respective homes. We cannot decide whether to go directly home as we know the traffic will be bad, or to try and do something first - we will decide at dinner! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.