Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

4.3km

After scouting out the swim from the Rail Bridge to the Sea Cadet Station and with the tides favorable, I decided that I would push the distance further today.

Got suited up... Ready to swim when this little girl, out for a walk with her mum and gran came over for a blether.

"what are you up to?"
"I'm off for a swim"

"where about?"
"Over to that buoy then off under the Rail Bridge and keep on going?

" Oh!!... Did you know that there are jelly fish in there?"
" Yes I do in fact I got stung the last time I swam here!"

And with here mum and gran smiling in the background, me and Abigail had a good ole blether.

However a swim was the order of the day, So from the beach at the Binks Car Park I headed off.. Out to the buoy straight ahead then  right and my second point, the Rail Bridge.

Just as I was approaching the bridge, I was aware of a stinging sensation on both my wrists... Jellies!!... However the decision was made to press on until I reached the half way point, the sea cadet centre where I stopped to take this picture of my route home.

Tiredness, and the Stings were beginning to kick in but push on I must... Back under the Rail Bridge and then the second potential obstacle was encountered...

Jet Bikes!!.... 2 of them.... Only one winner!!

Thankfully they sped off but I had to keep one eye out for them just incase they returned... The final few hundred meters were tough going, but the breathing exercises that I have been doing kicked in big style and I was comfortably able to breath every 5 strokes rather that 3.

Swim finished.... 2hours swim time and 4.3km distance traveled . Longest I've ever done.... and just as I thought I would be able to relax, who should be back at the beach with her mum... Abigail.

More blethering was had but it was a braw way to end the swim!!!

Ohh and on a wee side note.. I never met up with my "newest swim buddy", though I'm sure she is still out there and hopefully one day I'll get a chance to swim with her!!

#myoctopusteacher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.