Glory writ large

I was apprehensive of going to Great Langdale, social media and local news have all painted a fairly grim picture of the honeypot areas of the Lake District this year.
However I also knew it was the best location for the next stage of G's journey from walker to mountaineer via the dark art of scrambling.
We arrived early and set off up the Ghyll in the relative cool. It's not often in Cumbria you select your (frequent) drink stops for shade, but today it was a must. I was also very pleased I brought the filter so could make copious amounts of safe water. We had a huge amount of fun scrambling up the Ghyll, I've never seen it so dry, but twice, in deep pools* with barely a flow, we saw brown trout - incredible in such a steep beck.
We only had one "thank heaven I booked a guide" moment when Gill missed a foothold, but we learnt a lot from it ;-)
We took the gentler West Rib to gain height from the top of the falls and then contoured round to the steeper and more serious (grade 2) East Rib. I don't think I've ever climbed this complex little chain of slabs the same way twice, but I always appreciate its perfect finish on a gentle summit with amazing views. So that's today's main blip.
Fabulous.

Then a long rambling wander back down to the not that full car park. On a day this hot I think everyone headed to the lakes... Something the queues at Ambleside and Windermere confirmed.

*sometimes an extra is so beautiful it can't be ignored.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.