A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Geometric Repetition

Grass Spiders or Funnel Weavers love our creeping phlox bed. They burrow and live among the plants from spring through fall and frequently spin sheet webs like this one overnight. I discovered several scattered over the phlox this morning but it was the dew drops that captured my attention • The geometric repetition of the drops is unique, as well as their size variation. I’ve never seen anything quite like this one before, plus I like the abstract looking sheet web. I hope it meets Ingeborg’s expectation for today’s “Repetition Challenge”. Thank you for hosting! • Legend says dew on a grass spider web means a nice day ahead. So far that’s true! • But back to the Grass Spiders. They have 2 spinnerets and 8 eyes arranged in rows of three: 2 both on top and bottom with 4 in the middle. They are harmless spiders and avoid humans, but I can vouch their sting is indeed painful and can last a few days. Never rest your hand in the creeping phlox while deadheading jonquils ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.