Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sliver

It’s a bit indulgent to give up almost half of an image to deep, dark shadow, but I decided that the thin sliver of light in the nearer bridge was what made this for me.

I had a quiet day for my first day of leave. I spent most of the morning reading and watching a bit of the Olympic football, only stepping out into the heat in mid-afternoon.

I thought I’d walk down to the nature reserve and then along the river into Shipley, where I’d see if there were any Marbled White butterflies flying in the meadows near the station. The reserve was quiet - a couple of Brown Hawker dragonflies were patrolling the pond. I checked the privet bush for White Letter Hairstreak, but no joy.  

The river is quite low at the moment but I had only one teenage swimming party to negotiate on my way along the narrow path. 
These bridges mark the end of my riverside route: the high bridge carries the Wharfedale railway line and the one in my shadow is the footbridge I took over to the Shipley side. Across the canal and under the Airedale line brought me to the meadows, but there were no signs of Marbled White - just Small Skipper, Meadow Brown, Ringlet, Small White & Speckled Wood. 

As I was now in town I mooched through a couple of charity shops and picked up some groceries before catching a bus back up the hill. And for today’s Covid behaviour report: everyone on the bus was wearing a mask, most in the shops weren’t.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.