Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Emperor

A cooler day made for pleasanter walking although I left it until halfway through the Olympics opening ceremony before heading out. I'll have to make sure I don't spend too much of my leave sat in front of the TV watching sport.

It had been a couple of weeks since I'd been up on the high part of the moor, so I headed in that direction. It was overcast most of the time but I was still seeing plenty of the usual moorland butterflies: Small Heath, Ringlet, Meadow Brown & Small Skipper along with a few Green-veined White, Small White & Small Tortoiseshell.

Up on Low Plain are a couple of larger ponds that at this time of year I check for dragonflies. I have seen them flying there before but I'm not any good at identifying anything other than the Brown Hawker in flight.

Today there were a couple patrolling and luckily one perched on some vegetation opposite where I was standing. It was a bit of a stretch for my zoom, but I was very pleased to secure an image showing a distinctive central dark line down the abdomen - an Emperor Dragonfly. This is the largest of the UK dragonflies and the first time I've (knowingly) seen one locally. Definitely the highlight of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.