100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 94 & FLOWER FRIDAY

Mr. HCB is really pleased with the Calla lilies in our garden this year.  Although they grew well last year, there weren’t many flowers - it was mostly leaves - but this year they are spectacular with yellow, dark purple and pink flowers.  I bought the bulbs in Wilko  as they are half the price that they would have been in a garden centre.

There are so many beautiful flowers blooming in the garden, that I was spoilt for choice but I thought that these deserved their 15 minutes of fame on Blip.  Of course, there has been some faffing and fartnarkling and once again, I used the iColorama app, which is such fun to use and does a good job.  When I have saved several, I usually then ask Mr. HCB which he likes best - sometimes I blip the one he likes, but sometimes I completely ignore his choice and this was his favourite for today.

This is Number 94 in my 100 Abstracts, which I’m doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which enables impoverished girls in North Malawi to obtain a good secondary school education, something which many take for granted in the UK, although maybe not quite so much since the lockdowns and home/online teaching.  I think in the last eighteen months, parents of children, and particularly teenagers, have realised just how much teachers have to cope with.

CHOTSANI - came from a poor family background and her mother struggled to find her school fees, but with the help of the Mamie Martin fund she was able to complete her secondary education.   She says that she could never find enough words to convey how grateful she is to the Fund, which gave her a reason to work hard and smile, knowing that she could accomplish her goals without having to leave school because the fees weren’t paid.

Chotsani then went on to the University of Malawi and studied for a Degree in Media for Development and achieved this with credit.  Because of the support she received, it inspired her to give back to her community by supporting other under-privileged girls with their various challenges.  She has mentored other girls from her village in order to prepare them for their career aspirations. 

She is hoping to study for her Masters Degree in the UK to advance her studies in development issues so that she can then help people in Malawi make better life choices and while she is waiting for this to happen, she wants to volunteer with the Mamie Martin Fund, which has so inspired her.  

What a wonderful role model!

It is slightly cooler today but due to rain all weekend, according to the weather app - and the gardens do need it - but I think today is another day of sitting in the garden and enjoying just looking at the fruits of our labours although Mr. HCB said he may pick more beans and peas later, when it's not so hot.  Have a great weekend.

“Let's make our role models famous, 
     instead of making famous people our role models…” 
Sandhya Jane

P.S.  Thank you to all who have sponsored me so far - after another donation yesterday, obviously from a Blip friend, but I didn’t recognise the name, my total is now up to £370 -  I was hoping to raise £100 but with gift aid it has risen to £410 so I am thrilled.

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.