helenann

By helenann

Wildflowers and an unusual time piece

Today it was not so hot, with more cloud, and a breeze, compared to the past few days, which made it much  more  comfortable. 
This afternoon I cycled  on the bridleway across  the golf course where I was delighted  to see that, amidst the manicured greens, there is a wildflower meadow looking its best.

Back home, on foliage around our small pond, I discovered the  discarded skins where dragonflies  have been emerging. However I found  only one adult hawker dragonfly (see extra) which I think is an Aeshna cyanea, and which seemed literally to be  kissing good bye to its old skin and its old way of life as  a nymph, as it waited for its wings to harden. After a few minutes  it flew off. I went to record it in my garden journal and was amazed to find I  had made exactly the  same entry: same dragonfly species  and same day, exactly a year ago. It seems I can set my clock by this insect!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.