helenann

By helenann

Charming visitor

There was a tremendous thunderstorm with heavy rain in the early hours of this  morning. Two houses in Andover, not so very far away, were struck by lightning and caught fire; their roofs and upstairs  floors were severely damaged, but fortunately no-one was hurt. 
Today has been cooler than of late, and mostly  dull, which is quite a welcome  change. I was in the  garden  photographing  Mrs Popple, the  fuchsia (see extra) when I was excited to noticed,  a few metres off, a Goldfinch tucking in on the seed heads of the Greater Knapweed. It remained long enough for me to capture the photo here. I do love these little birds: such good value with their bright plumage, cheerful song and appreciative of  my  efforts to grow  food for them. I have noticed they also like  lavender seeds so now I don't prune my lavender plants  until late spring.  A child of my acquaintance calls them  "charmers" since I told her a flock of Goldfinches was referred to as a charm, which I think is most appropriate.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.