EFF

Or perhaps “The First of Many
 
This is an Emergency Flower Friday blip.  I snapped it on the telephone in the middle of weed-proofing our back fence.
 
The Strawberries are coming on well, let’s hope we get them before the birds - serious netting required tomorrow.
 
 
Today was taken up with the work on the fence (and shed).  One of the troubles with a lap fence is that uncontrolled plants tend to push themselves between the slats,  To get over this problem years ago I stapled a sheet of old damp-proofing membrane over the back lawn fence, which was 100% successful.
 
So to help stop the willow from invading our property as it re-grows I have done the same to that length of fence, and while I was at it I did the remainder of the fence plus the back of the shed which has been invaded in the past. The shot at extra was about half way.
 
Nearly half the job was cutting my way through the grass and thistles and nettles to get to the willow, and trimming back the willow sproutings to get at the new fence.  This involved strimmer, sickle and clippers, in that order.  I was totally exhausted before I started work on the job.
 
By the time I had finished, mid/late afternoon, I was too ‘cream crackered’ to do anything other than take a shower and flake out.  The evening wasn’t much better, so I’m blipping in the wee small hours again.
 
 
Many thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.