Meadow bathing

If you can 'forest bathe', then I think perhaps you can 'meadow bathe' too.

I'd read on a nature group page on Facebook about a field between Sheffield and Chesterfield, where the farmer had sown a broad wildflower strip around 2 edges of an arable field.

The Facebook images looked wonderful. So after getting a few things done at home today, I went out in the late afternoon to have a look. It really was beautiful.  The day had started out dull and overcast, but by mid-afternoon, there was hazy sunlight. I spent a really contented hour or so just looking, pausing to take photos (rather a lot of photos...), and watching the many pollinators at work. You could hardly have a better demonstration of why this kind of planting matters, along with avoiding pesticides and weedkiller: there were crowds of bees, butterflies and other flying or buzzing creatures.

On the way back, driving along a lane through dense woodland, an owl flew low across my path.  Another lovely moment.

I think the flowers in the main image (foreground) are coneflowers. The extra has a broader view, to give a hint of the whole expanse of colour.

It's been busy, the last day or two, so I'm due for a bit of a Blip catch up on comments etc. Tomorrow, I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.