fotoday

By fotoday

Port Quin

This is one of 4 backblips I have posted from our recent Cornish holiday. Unfortunately I have lost my motivation to post on blip lately. So whilst for the last few years posting on average 3 or 4 days a week has worked well for me I find myself lately trying to catch up a day or so late (or in this case a week late !).  I think I need to take an extended break, I am not sure for how long as I intend to keep looking through your journals and to keep taking photos and posting regularly on Instagram, here 
            https://www.instagram.com/i.takefotos/
for those who haven’t already found me there. Blip has been fantastic for me since I started on 30 June 2013 but I am busier with my photography in other directions now so I wish all my blip friends well whilst I am away and I will hopefully be back before you even realised I had gone !
 
But back to this blip; we ended the holiday as we started it down the steep winding lane to the little Port Quin. Known as the village that died twice, once when the pilchards failed and once when all the men were drowned at sea because late one stormy night, sometime in the 19th century, the entire male population of Port Quin were drowned at sea whilst out fishing. The 32 widowed women of the village were unable to continue without their men folk, their hardship became intolerable and Port Quin was left deserted, with the fishermen's cottages falling into disrepair, ruin and the sea. You can still see the fish cellars there today and a scattering of properties mainly owned by the National Trust. It is a lovely little cove that gives an insight into days gone by today provides a safe place for a coasteering company to start its adventures.
 
An easy journey home again, we will definitely try to get the midweek changeover day when we visit the SW again, it makes the journey far less stressful.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.