Little Lizard

Today's adventure was a trip to the Fort Ord Natural Reserve with guides from our local Museum of Natural History. It's an area that is not usually open to the public, so it was a special field trip. We were to be on the lookout for Horned Lizards, which were not to be found, but I spotted this newly hatched Western Fence Lizard (Sceloporus occidentalis) on the path. There was a quick lesson in how to hold a lizard, something I never thought I would need to know, and then I was eye to eye with this creature not much bigger than my thumbnail. I marveled over its tiny claws the same way you'd count any baby's fingers.

We all got to use special close-up lenses on our phones, which was really fun. And of course I had to order one as soon as I got home...

Fort Ord is a dry chaparral landscape, see the Extra. The gorgeous red stuff is poison oak. The Fort was closed as a military base in 1994. Much of the land is now a National Monument. Although most of the land is open to the public, this was the first time we visited any part of the property.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.